OHSC Fraud Hotline


The Office of Health Standards Compliance (OHSC) functions under control of a Board appointed by the Minister of Health in terms of the National Health Amendment Act of 2013.

The Board is the accounting authority of the Office and is responsible for determining the policy of the OHSC and undertaking strategic planning for the functions of the Office.

The Act specifies that the Board should consist of seven to 12 members. Most members are selected on the basis of specific expertise and experience in various areas of healthcare, the law, finance and economics, the private and public healthcare systems, and quality assurance. One member represents organised labour and one is a representative of civil society organisations.

The Minister makes the final selection of members from individuals nominated by institutions of higher learning, civil society organisations, trade unions and other organisations in response to adverts in the Government Gazette and national press.

The Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Financial Officer of the OHSC are ex officio members of the Board.

The current board of the OHSC, appointed in January 2014, is as follows:



Chairperson: Professor Lizo Mazwai
Professor Mazwai is a specialist surgeon who has had a life-long association with Walter Sisulu University in the Eastern Cape where he served as Professor of Surgery and Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences. He is currently a specialist surgeon in private practice and volunteer consultant responsible for training in surgery at Nelson Mandela Academic Hospital in Mthatha. He is a member of the Eastern Cape Planning Commission, former chair of the South African Medical Research Council board and has served as senior-vice president of the Colleges of Medicine of South Africa.





Professor Ethelwynn Stellenberg is acting head of nursing at the University of Stellenbosch. Her 28-year career as a professional nurse included a period as nursing service manager of a 300-bed surgical unit at Tygerburg Hospital, Cape Town. Her research in recent years has focused on continuous quality assurance in clinical environments.





Professor Stuart Whittaker is founder and chief executive of the Council for Health Service Accreditation of Southern Africa. He is an authority in the area of quality assurance and quality improvement in the field of healthcare and has consulted on these matters to the World Health Organisation.




Dr Bandile Masuku

Ms Audrey Montshiwa

Mr Bada Pharasi

Mr Abdul Kariem Hoosain


Fraud Hotline Info